Which image shows the type of leukocyte responsible for antibody production?

Which type of leukocyte is responsible for antibody production?


A lymphocyte is a type of white blood cell that is part of the immune system. There are two main types of lymphocytes: B cells and T cells. The B cells produce antibodies that are used to attack invading bacteria, viruses, and toxins.

Which of the following leukocytes are responsible for producing antibodies quizlet?

Which type of leukocyte is responsible for antibody production? B lymphocytes, which mature in the bone marrow and do not require exposure to thymosin in the thymus as T lymphocytes do, produce antibodies.

How do you identify different types of leukocytes?

White Blood Cells (Leukocytes)

WBCs are divided into two main groups based on cytoplasmic appearance: agranular leukocytes (lymphocytes and monocytes that have relatively clear cytoplasm) and granular leukocytes (neutrophils, eosinophils, and basophils whose cytoplasm is filled with granules.

Which type of leukocyte provides protection against?

White blood cells protect your body against infection. As your white blood cells travel through your bloodstream and tissues, they locate the site of an infection and act as an army general to notify other white blood cells of their location to help defend your body from an attack of an unknown organism.

How do B lymphocytes produce antibodies?

Antibodies are produced by specialized white blood cells called B lymphocytes (or B cells). When an antigen binds to the B-cell surface, it stimulates the B cell to divide and mature into a group of identical cells called a clone.

What type of cell produces antibodies quizlet?

B cells produce antibodies. T cells produce proteins called T cell receptors. Different T cells receptors are made in response to different antigens.

Which formed element is responsible for the production of antibodies?

B cells destroy bacteria and inactivate their toxins. They also produce antibodies. T cells attack viruses, fungi, some bacteria, transplanted cells, and cancer cells.

Which are the leukocytes responsible for releasing histamine and promoting inflammation?

Basophils are the least common leukocyte found in the body, but play a key role in the inflammatory response. They contain histamine, which is a potent vasodilator. Upon release, histamine will increase blood flow to infected areas.

What is a hematocrit quizlet?

Hematocrit is the percentage of erythrocytes in a whole blood sample.

Which leukocytes are active phagocytes?

Neutrophils are actively phagocytic; they engulf bacteria and other microorganisms and microscopic particles. The granules of the neutrophil are microscopic packets of potent enzymes capable of digesting many types of cellular materials.

What cells are responsible for producing platelets?

Platelets are produced from very large bone marrow cells called megakaryocytes. As megakaryocytes develop into giant cells, they undergo a process of fragmentation that results in the release of over 1,000 platelets per megakaryocyte.

Which are characteristics of leukocytes quizlet?

Terms in this set (13)

  • Leukocytes. -Have nuclei and other organelles, but do not carry hemoglobin. …
  • Nonspecific Immunity Leukocytes. -Do not discriminate between one type of pathogen or the other.
  • Neutrophils (Polymorphs) …
  • Eosinophils. …
  • Basophils. …
  • Monocytes. …
  • Specific Immunity Lymphocytes. …
  • T-Cells.

What is characteristic of leukocytes?

A white blood cell, also known as a leukocyte or white corpuscle, is a cellular component of the blood that lacks hemoglobin, has a nucleus, is capable of motility, and defends the body against infection and disease.

Which leukocytes are granulocytes quizlet?

Basophils, eosinophils, & neutrophils are the granulocytic leukocytes.

Which leukocytes are granulocytes?

Neutrophils, eosinophils, and basophils are granulocytes. A granulocyte is a type of white blood cell. Also called granular leukocyte, PMN, and polymorphonuclear leukocyte.

How are leukocytes produced?

White blood cells are produced by bone marrow and their levels of production are regulated by organs such as the spleen, liver, and kidneys. Granulocytes and agranulocytes are the two types of white blood cells or leukocytes. Granulocytes contain granules or sacs in their cytoplasm and agranulocytes do not.

What are neutrophils lymphocytes monocytes eosinophils and basophils?

Neutrophils – main action against bacterial and fungal infections. Monocytes – main action against bacterial infections. Eosinophils – main action against parasitic infections. Basophils – responsible for responses to allergens. Lymphocytes – main action against viral infections.

Which cell type is a mononuclear leukocyte?

Mononuclear leukocytes include lymphocytes, monocytes, macrophages, and dendritic cells. This group is involved in both innate and adaptive immune system function.

Which of the following leukocytes are formed in lymphoid tissue and produces antibodies?

B lymphocytes produce antibodies – proteins (gamma globulins) that recognize foreign substances (antigen) and attach themselves to them. B lymphocytes (or B cells) are each programmed to make one specific antibody.

Which cells are known as polymorphonuclear leukocytes quizlet?

These are three polymorphonuclear granulocytic leukocytes: basophil, eosinophil, and neutrophil.

Which cells are also called polymorphonuclear leukocytes quizlet?

Monocytes and neutrophils are phagocytic. Granulocytes are a category of white blood cells characterized by the presence of granules in their cytoplasm. [1] They are also called polymorphonuclear leukocytes (PMN, PML, or PMNL) because of the varying shapes of the nucleus, which is usually lobed into three segments.

Which type of precursor cell produces lymphocytes?

Figure 1.7. The distribution of lymphoid tissues in the body. Lymphocytes arise from stem cells in bone marrow, and differentiate in the central lymphoid organs (yellow), B cells in bone marrow and T cells in the thymus.

Which cells are known as polymorphonuclear leukocytes select all that apply?

Nelson, MD, is a board-certified oncologist and hematologist who previously served for 13 years as a physician in the US Air Force. Polymorphonuclear leukocytes (PMNs) are a type of white blood cell (WBC) that include neutrophils, eosinophils, basophils, and mast cells.

Which leukocytes become macrophages?

Macrophages develop from a type of white blood cell called monocytes. Monocytes become macrophages when they move from the bloodstream to the tissues. Monocytes move to the tissues when infection occurs.

Do basophils synthesize or produce antibodies?

Recent evidence suggests that basophils are an important source of the cytokine, interleukin-4, perhaps more important than T cells. Interleukin-4 is considered one of the critical cytokines in the development of allergies and the production of IgE antibody by the immune system.

Where are eosinophils produced?

Eosinophils are formed exclusively in the bone marrow where they spend about 8 days in the process of maturation before moving into the blood vessels.