What are the wound classifications?


  • Class 1 wounds are considered to be clean. They are uninfected, no inflammation is present, and are primarily closed. …
  • Class 2 wounds are considered to be clean-contaminated. …
  • Class 3 wounds are considered to be contaminated. …
  • Class 4 wounds are considered to be dirty-infected.

What are the classifications of wounds and the types of wounds?

Open or Closed – Wounds can be open or closed. Open wounds are the wounds with exposed underlying tissue/ organs and open to the outside environment, for example, penetrating wounds. On the other hand, closed wounds are the wounds that occur without any exposure to the underlying tissue and organs.

What are the classifications of surgical wound?

Types of Surgical Wounds
The American College of Surgeons determines four classes of surgical wound types based on the wound’s level of contamination: clean, clean-contaminated, contaminated and dirty-infected.

What are the 5 types of wounds?

There are at least five different types of open wounds:

  • Abrasions. An abrasion is a skin wound caused by rubbing or scraping the skin against a hard, rough surface. …
  • Incisions. …
  • Lacerations. …
  • Punctures. …
  • Avulsions. …
  • First Aid.

What are the two classifications of a wound?

There are two basic types, or classifications, of wounds: Open and closed.

What are the 7 types of wounds?

Types of Wounds

  • Penetrating wounds. Puncture wounds. Surgical wounds and incisions. Thermal, chemical or electric burns. Bites and stings. Gunshot wounds, or other high velocity projectiles that can penetrate the body.
  • Blunt force trauma. Abrasions. Lacerations. Skin tears.

What are the four types of wounds?

There are four types of open wounds, which are classified depending on their cause.

  • Abrasion. An abrasion occurs when your skin rubs or scrapes against a rough or hard surface. …
  • Laceration. A laceration is a deep cut or tearing of your skin. …
  • Puncture. …
  • Avulsion.

What are the 3 classifications of wound healing?

There are three categories of wound healing—primary, secondary and tertiary wound healing.

Why is wound classification important?

SURGICAL WOUND CLASSIFICATION is an important predictor of the risk of postoperative surgical site infections. Wound classification also is used to analyze clinical, economic, and educational outcomes in national reports on quality.

What are the three 3 most common types of wound infections?

The most common causative organisms associated with wound infections include Staphylococcus aureus/MRSA, Streptococcus pyogenes, Enterococci and Pseudomonas aeruginosa.

What is classification of wound dressing?

wound dressings are classified into two categories: (1) primary dressings -applied directly on the wound; (2) secondary dressingsused to cover the primary dressing [41][42][43].

What are the 6 types of open wounds?

Open wound types include abrasions, excoriation, skin tears, avulsions, lacerations and punctures, according to our Skin and Wound Management course workbook.

What are the 4 stages of wound healing?

Wound healing is classically divided into 4 stages: (A) hemostasis, (B) inflammation, (C) proliferation, and (D) remodeling. Each stage is characterized by key molecular and cellular events and is coordinated by a host of secreted factors that are recognized and released by the cells of the wounding response.

What are the 5 principles of wound management?

In this article, the authors offer five generalisable principles that colleagues providing community care can apply in order to achieve timely wound healing: (1) assessment and exclusion of disease processes; (2) wound cleansing; (3) timely dressing change; (4) appropriate (dressing choice; and (5) considered

What are the 5 stages of wound healing?

Wound Healing Stages in Adults

  • Hemostasis Phase.
  • Inflammatory Phase.
  • Proliferative Phase.
  • Maturation Phase (Remodelling Stage)
  • Excessive Wound Healing.
  • Chronic Wound Formation.

What are the 3 stages of tissue repair?

Three Stages of Wound Healing

  • Inflammatory phase – This phase begins at the time of injury and lasts up to four days. …
  • Proliferative phase – This phase begins about three days after injury and overlaps with the inflammatory phase. …
  • Remodeling phase – This phase can continue for six months to one year after injury.

What are the phases of healing?

The Four Stages of Wound Healing

  • Hemostasis Phase. Hemostasis is the process of the wound being closed by clotting. …
  • Inflammatory Phase. …
  • Proliferative Phase. …
  • Maturation Phase.

How would you describe a wound?

Use correct terminology to describe your findings, such as ecchymosed (bruised), erythematous (red), indurated (firm), edematous (swollen). Wound edges must also be carefully defined. Wound edges can be described as diffuse, well defined or rolled.

How do you chart a wound?

Use the body as a clock when documenting the length, width, and depth of a wound using the linear method. In all instances of the linear (or clock) method, the head is at 12:00 and the feet are at 6:00. When measuring length, the ruler will be placed between the longest portion of the wound between 12:00 and 6:00.

What is a Stage 3 wound?

Stage 3 bedsores (also known as stage 3 pressure sores, pressure injuries, or decubitus ulcers) are deep and painful wounds in the skin. They are the third of four bedsore stages. These sores develop when a stage 2 bedsore penetrates past the top layers of skin but has yet not reached muscle or bone.