What are the names of the carpal and tarsal bones?

Consider the carpal and tarsal bones, students need to learn the names of the eight carpal and the seven tarsal bones in order.

Table 3.

Bones Meaning Arabic terminology
Capitate Head-shaped العظم الكبير
Hamate hooked العظم الكُلابي
Tarsal bones
Calcaneus Heel عظم العقب

What are the names of the tarsal bones?

The tarsal bones are 7 in number. They are named the calcaneus, talus, cuboid, navicular, and the medial, middle, and lateral cuneiforms.

What are the carpal and tarsal bones?

Summary – Tarsal vs Carpal Bones

Tarsal bones are a group of seven bones forming the ankle of the foot. They are organized into three rows in the foot. Carpal bones are a cluster of eight bones forming the wrist of the hand. They are organized into two rows in the hand.

What bones are in the carpal?

The eight carpal bones (scaphoid, lunate, triquetrum, pisiform, hamate, capitate, trapezoid, and trapezium) are arranged in two rows between the metacarpal bases distally and the distal radius and ulna (with the intervening TFCC) proximally (Fig. 13-4).

How many carpal and tarsal bones are there?

The skeleton of the wrist, or carpus, consists of eight small carpal bones, which are arranged in two rows of four each. The skeleton of the ankle, or tarsus, has seven bones, but, because of the angle of the foot to the leg and the weight-bearing function, they are arranged in a more complicated way.

How many carpal bones are there?


Your wrist is made up of eight small bones (carpal bones) plus two long bones in your forearm — the radius and the ulna. The most commonly injured carpal bone is the scaphoid bone, located near the base of your thumb.

What are the names of the two largest tarsal bones?

The calcaneus, or heel bone, is the largest tarsal and forms the prominence at the back of the foot. The remaining tarsals include the navicular, cuboid, and three cuneiforms. The cuboid and cuneiforms adjoin the metatarsal bones in a firm, nearly immovable joint.

Where are the tarsal bones?

The tarsal bones consist of seven short bones located at the proximal region of the foot. They are arranged in proximal and distal rows. 1. Calcaneus bone: The largest tarsal bone that projects posteriorly as the heel.

What are the 5 metatarsal bones?

A fifth metatarsal fracture is a type of broken bone in your foot. You have 5 metatarsals. They are the middle bones in your feet, between your toes and your anklebones (tarsals). The fifth metatarsal connects your smallest toe to your ankle.

What are the 8 bones of the wrist?

There are eight wrist bones, including the scaphoid bone, which is often fractured.

  • Scaphoid. The scaphoid is a bone in the wrist. …
  • Lunate. The lunate is a bone in the middle of the wrist in the first row of wrist bones. …
  • Triquetrum. …
  • Trapezoid. …
  • Trapezium. …
  • Capitate. …
  • Hamate. …
  • Pisiform.

What is the metatarsal?

The metatarsal bones are the bones of the forefoot that connect the distal aspects of the cuneiform (medial, intermediate and lateral) bones and cuboid bone to the base of the five phalanges of the foot. There are five metatarsal bones, numbered one to five from the hallux (great toe) to the small toe.

What is the name of the ankle bone?

The talus (or “ankle bone”) connects your leg to your foot.