What are the 7 categories of drugs?

7 Drug Categories

  • (1) Central Nervous System (CNS) Depressants. CNS depressants slow down the operations of the brain and the body. …
  • (2) CNS Stimulants. …
  • (3) Hallucinogens. …
  • (4) Dissociative Anesthetics. …
  • (5) Narcotic Analgesics. …
  • (6) Inhalants. …
  • (7) Cannabis.

What are the 5 main drug categories?

Here are the five main categories and some information about each:

  • Central nervous system depressants.
  • Central nervous system stimulants.
  • Opiates and Opiodes.
  • Hallucinogens.
  • Marijuana.

What are the 8 classification of drugs?

The drug categories are:

  • Stimulants.
  • Inhalants.
  • Cannabinoids.
  • Depressants.
  • Opioids.
  • Steroids.
  • Hallucinogens.
  • Prescription drugs.

What are the 6 types of drugs?

The 6 Classifications of Drugs. When considering only their chemical makeup, there are six main classifications of drugs: alcohol, opioids, benzodiazepines, cannabinoids, barbiturates, and hallucinogens.

What are 10 types of drugs?

These include:

  • alcohol.
  • tobacco.
  • cannabis.
  • methamphetamines (e.g. MDMA) and other stimulants such as cocaine.
  • new psychoactive substances – synthetic drugs.
  • opioids, including heroin.
  • the non-medical use of prescription drugs.

How many drug categories are there?

Drugs, substances, and certain chemicals used to make drugs are classified into five (5) distinct categories or schedules depending upon the drug’s acceptable medical use and the drug’s abuse or dependency potential.

What are the 4 stages of drugs?

Some people take their time while others go from zero to 60 in a short period of time. No matter how long your journey is, most rehabilitation counselors agree that there are four main stages of drug addiction: experimentation, regular use, risky use/abuse, and drug addiction and dependency.

What are drugs Class 12?

By definition, drugs are chemical substances that affect or alter the physiology when taken into a living system. They can either be natural or synthetic. Chemically, they are low atomic mass and molecular mass structures.

What are medicines Class 12?

Chemicals which may be used for the treatment of diseases and for reducing the suffering from pain are called medicines or drugs. The branch of science which makes use of chemicals for the treatment of disseases [therapeutic effect] is called chemotherapy.

What are the 4 types of drugs abused?

Types of Drug Abuse

  1. Heroin. Heroin is a highly addictive opioid. …
  2. Cocaine. Cocaine, even when taken in small doses, is a very dangerous stimulant. …
  3. Crack. Crack is a potent form of cocaine that people smoke to create a short and intense euphoric sensation. …
  4. Hallucinogens. …
  5. Amphetamines. …
  6. Marijuana. …
  7. Alcohol. …
  8. Inhalants.

What are the 4 types of drugs and their function?

The different types of drugs include:

  • Stimulants speed up the nervous system.
  • Depressants slow down the nervous system.
  • Opioids create a sense of euphoria and are habit-forming.
  • Hallucinogens and dissociatives alter a person’s perception of reality.

What are the top 10 most used drugs?

Top 10 Most Commonly Abused Drugs and Their Effects

  • Tobacco. In 2012, an estimated 69.5 million Americans over age 12 were current users of a tobacco product. …
  • Marijuana. …
  • Prescription Drugs. …
  • Benzos. …
  • Cocaine. …
  • Stimulants. …
  • Hallucinogen Drugs. …
  • Heroin.

What is category A drug?

Category A: Controlled studies in women have failed to demonstrate a risk to the fetus in the first trimester and there is no evidence of risk in later trimesters. The possibility of fetal harm appears remote. Medications in this class are considered safe to use in pregnancy.

Why are drugs Categorised?

Drugs have been named and categorized for a variety of reasons: within political systems, to guide policies related to drugs; within health services or medical science, to guide prescriptions for drug use and to treat and prevent drug-related harm; and within survey research, to assess and compare patterns of drug use.

How do you categorize medication?

Drugs are classified by how they work, what they treat, and their chemical structure. Some drugs fit in more than one category. Others are grouped together under some classification methods but not others.

What is a Schedule 3 drug?

Schedule III: Drugs with low to moderate potential for abuse and/or addiction, but less dangerous than Schedule I or II.

What are Schedule 1 drugs?

Some examples of substances listed in Schedule I are: heroin, lysergic acid diethylamide (LSD), marijuana (cannabis), peyote, methaqualone, and 3,4- methylenedioxymethamphetamine (“Ecstasy”). Substances in this schedule have a high potential for abuse which may lead to severe psychological or physical dependence.

What are the 5 Schedules of controlled substances?

Schedule Organization

  • Schedule I: Marijuana, ecstasy, heroin, LSD, and peyote.
  • Schedule II: Methamphetamine, cocaine, fentanyl, Vicodin, oxycodone, and Adderall.
  • Schedule III: Anabolic steroids, testosterone, and ketamine.
  • Schedule IV: Xanax, Ambien, Ativan, and Valium.
  • Schedule V: Cough suppressants.